The Mount is maintained and operated by the Edith Wharton Restoration, Inc., which was founded in 1980. The Mount is a National Historic Landmark and cultural center that celebrates the intellectual, artistic, and humanitarian legacy of Edith Wharton. We engage a diverse audience by providing context to Wharton’s life and achievements through our interpretive and public programs, and preservation of her historic estate.

The Mount has evolved from a traditional historic house museum to a vibrant cultural center, engaging audiences through our year-round artistic and literary programs. Susan Wissler, executive director, talks about this transformation in an interview directed by Jason Brown.

Board of Trustees

Daniel M. Kasper, Chairman

Irene Goldman-Price, Vice-Chairman


Lila Berle

Gale H. Arnold

Mary Copeland (Gonzalez)

Delight Dodyk

Neil Ellenoff

Virginia Means Giddens

Naomi Gordon

Inge Heckel

Claire McMillan

Pauline C. Metcalf

Cris C. Raymond

Richard C. Seltzer

Michael Simon

Kathleen P. Wasiuk

Kate Wharton

B. Carter White

Gertrude de G. Wilmers