The 2019 Edith Wharton Writers-in-Residence

Rachel Kaadzi Ghansah won a Pulitzer Prize for Feature Writing in 2018 for her profile of white supremacist and mass murderer Dylann Roof. She was also a National Magazine Award finalist in 2014 for her profile of elusive comedian Dave Chappelle. Her work has also appeared in The Paris Review, The Virginia Quarterly Review, Rolling Stone, Transition, and The New Republic among other publications. Her first book, The Explainers and the Explorers, is forthcoming from Scribner. Rachel will use her time at The Mount to work on her book which explains 400 years (1605-2017) of black American history through profiles. Rachel was recently featured on PBS Brief But Spectacular. 

Julia Phillips is a Fulbright fellow whose writing has appeared in Glimmer TrainThe AtlanticSlate, and The Moscow Times. Her debut novel, Disappearing Earth, is forthcoming from Knopf in the US and Scribner in the UK, as well as publishers in France, Germany, Italy, Poland, and China. She will use her time at The Mount to revise her second book By Force, which is about a woman who discovers that her husband as a teenager took part in a sexual assault of one of his classmates.

Caroline Weber is a professor of French and Comparative Literature at Barnard College, Columbia University; she has also taught at the University of Pennsylvania and Princeton. She is the author of Queen of Fashion: What Marie-Antoinette Wore to the Revolution (2006). She has written for The New York Times, The New York Times Book Review, Financial Times, London Review of Books, The Wall Street Journal, and New York magazine. Her most recent work Proust’s Duchess was published in 2018, and she will use the time at The Mount to work on the second book in the series.

About the Residence

What:  The Mount, Edith Wharton’s former home in Lenox, Massachusetts, offers two and three week residencies each March for three women poet, fiction, or creative nonfiction writers. The residents will be provided with a $1,000 stipend, a $250 travel allowance, work space at The Mount, and lodging for the entirety of their residency. Residents must provide their own transportation.

The principal responsibility of each resident is to spend time further developing her creative work. In addition, the residents will be expected to be available for local media requests and will participate in a public panel discussion with fellow residents during their stay.

When: Residencies will be held in March each year. The specific length of each residency will be determined in consultation with the residents. We schedule each residency so that there is some overlap between the writers. This “mini” writers’ colony will give the residents a community of support and camaraderie.

Where: Residents will complete their residency at The Mount in Lenox, MA. Edith Wharton designed The Mount, a Georgian revival mansion, on a wooded parcel on the shores of Laurel Lake and lived there from 1902-1911. It was at The Mount, which she called her “first true home,” that Wharton came into her own as a writer and produced some of her most iconic works.

Today, The Mount is a historic house museum and cultural center that celebrates the artistic, literary, and humanitarian legacy of Edith Wharton.

Who: Women writers and scholars of demonstrated accomplishment are invited to create, advance, or complete works-in-progress during their time at The Mount.

Applicants must provide a proposal, to include:

    • CV or resume
    • Statement of purpose outlining project, residency, and career goals (max. 2000 characters)
    • Writing sample of approximately 1,500 words
    • $25 application fee

Important dates:
Applications are closed for the 2019 Residence. Please check back in Summer 2019 for new dates.

The Edith Wharton Writers-in-Residence Program
c/o The Mount, Edith Wharton’s Home
P.O. Box 974
Lenox, MA 01240

Past Edith Wharton Writers-in-Residence


  • Elif Batuman
  • Buzzy Jackson
  • Kate Reed Petty


  • Christene Barberich
  • Donna M. Lucey
  • Vanessa Manko


  • Claire McMillan
  • Yvonne Puig
  • Koren Zailckas


  • Natalie Dykstra


  • Kate Bolick
  • Francesca Segal