Pacific: A Biography of the Pacific Ocean

August 29, 2016 @ 4:00 pm – 6:00 pm
The Stable at The Mount
2 Plunkett St
Lenox, MA 01240
$30 general; $25 Mount members
Photo by Setsuko Winchester
Photo by Setsuko Winchester


Simon Winchester concludes our lecture series with a talk based on his enthralling biography of the Pacific Ocean, Pacific: Silicon Chips and Surfboards, Coral Reefs and Atom Bombs, Brutal Dictators, Fading Empires, and the Coming Collision of the World’s Superpowers, its role in the modern world, and our relationship with this imposing force of nature. Today, the Pacific is ascendant. Its geological history has long transformed us—tremendous earthquakes, volcanoes, and tsunamis—but its human history, from a Western perspective, is quite young, beginning with Magellan’s sixteenth-century circumnavigation. In telling the story of the Pacific, Winchester takes us from the Bering Strait to Cape Horn, the Yangtze River to the Panama Canal, and to the many small islands and archipelagos that lie in between. He observes the fall of a dictator in Manila, visits aboriginals in northern Queensland, and is jailed in Tierra del Fuego, the land at the end of the world. His journey encompasses a trip down the Alaska Highway, a stop at the isolated Pitcairn Islands, a trek across South Korea and a glimpse of its mysterious northern neighbor.

The lecture, which will be held in the historic Stable, will be followed by a tea and book signing. The doors will open at 3:15 p.m.

Eventbrite - The Summer Lecture Series

New York Times bestselling author Simon Winchester, OBE, is a British writer, journalist and broadcaster. He studied geology at Oxford and has written for, among others, the Guardian, Condé Nast Traveler, Smithsonian, and National Geographic. From 1969 on, his work as a journalist took Winchester all over the world, from Northern Ireland, to India, Washington DC, Patagonia, and Hong Kong, ending up in New York in 1997. He covered numerous significant events, including Bloody Sunday and the Watergate Scandal. His first book, The Professor and the Madman, was published in 1998. From then on, Winchester withdrew from regular journalism and concentrated on working almost entirely as an author. His prizewinning books include more than a dozen non-fiction books, such as The Map that Changed the World; Krakatoa; A Crack in the Edge of the World and Atlantic. Mr. Winchester was made an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) ‘for services to journalism and literature’ in the New Year Honours list for 2006.

Refund requests will only be honored if made more than one week prior to lecture date.